Hello!

 

Bushfire

Hi there everyone, πŸ™‚

Boy was the Christmas break full on with lots of things to do and plenty of drinking… Actually, too much drinking!

I put on about 2 kilos and are now thinking it’s about time to try and send them back to wherever it is they came from. I think they call it the the cake, chocolate, potato chip bourbon county? Not sure exactly where it is but I’m sure some of you have already had run-ins with this community. They love to leave you with a few kilos here and there and take no responsibility for it. I think i need to complain to their lord mayor, does anyone know his or her name?? Hahahaha

Okay I’ll be serious now. πŸ™‚

As many of you know I come from Australia (Oz, or the land Down Under to some) but the city I live in is Perth, Western Australia. For those that don’t know, Sydney and Melbourne are on the East side which are much cooler States than Perth, yet Melbourne has been experiencing extremely high heats lately also! Our world is changing. πŸ™‚ Now we recently had the Ashes (cricket) here and the poor guys had to play in 44 degrees Celsius. Let me tell you, that is scorching hot and not for the faint of heart. Now playing cricket in that and standing around for hours on end? Grueling! Β I would take my hat off to them if I had one for their perseverance. And lets not forget their die hard fans that sat in that crowd cheering them on and showing their support. Β I say well done to both the Aussies and the English team!! πŸ™‚

A friend of mine took me last week to watch the 20/20 cricket game here at the WACA. Never before going to watch a game I was a little hesitant about what it would be like, but PEOPLE it was awesome!! So much fun and so exciting. The crowd were all so excited and pumped and I love the vibe and how they encourage the crowds to cheer their team on and how they play music in between the shots. It’s so cool and the game is so fast with heaps of 4’s and 6’s been hit into the crowds. If you’ve never been to one and get the opportunity to do so? I say go for it as you won’t regret it! Oh by the way Perth won over Adelaide by 5 runs, it was nail biting exciting stuff! Yet I don’t bite my nails. Hahaha

As for our weather here? It’s been hot hot hotter and then warm warm warm. Lol We have had some terrible fires that have left many homeless here in Perth but like all good cities the people have come out in their droves to support the needy in anyway they can. Losing your home would be horrific yet I still can’t help but feel for all the wildlife and domestic animals that don’t make it through these horrific fires. Just thinking about it makes you sad. Melbourne has also experienced some terrible fires lately. You know the bit that really grates on me? It’s when you find out that the fires have been lit deliberately. I know a lot of Β these people are pyromaniacs and are very ill and are in need of help, but they truly have NO idea of the damage to so many lives they have ruined. They should be made to go and apologise to every single person they have affected and listen to their story and see the damage for themselves. Look in to the eyes Β and see the pain and suffering they have inflicted to someone who more than likely never hurt another soul before and is now being punished for someone else’s stupidity! Then go into therapy and get help!!

And then the polar opposite to the other side of the world has been flooding storms and extremely cold temperatures. I suppose the whole world climates are changing and I don’t know if it’s to do with global warming or not, anyone have an opinion as to what’s going on in our beautiful world? πŸ™‚ Would being kinder to our planet make a difference or is mother nature always going to have her way with Planet Earth, regardless? Hmmm the mind ponders so let’s see what you have to say?

I shall be off now so have a great week and many hugs to you all. Paula xxxxx

image source

39 Comments

Filed under My experiences, Thinking...

39 responses to “Hello!

  1. Pula,
    Sounds like you’re having a great time, hope you are well.
    Kind regards.

    Steve Mc

    • Hey Steve, nice to hear from you. πŸ™‚
      I am and if it wasn’t for the extreme heat life would be perfect! Assuming there is such a thing. Hahaha
      Hope all is well with you and your knee is on the mend. Take care, hugs Paula xxx

  2. So great to hear from you again, Paula. I’m sure most people would be happy if they only put on a couple of kilos over the holidays. πŸ™‚ I’m so sad to hear about the terrible fires over there, and all the damage caused. Your summer heat sounds really unbearable. I feel for all of you, especially those cricket guys and their faithful fans. What stamina they have. Hope your week will be a good one. Take care. xx

    • Hello Sylvia, it’s good to be back and hearing from you. πŸ™‚
      For me 2 kilos is like 10. I fret that much i drive myself crazy! Lol
      The weather is really terrible and the fires are a byproduct of it, except when they are lit deliberately! I admire the cricketers a lot more now since watching a game. So much fun, Sylvia. Have a great week, hugs Paula xxxxxx

  3. thebattlefieldwithin

    Wow! Looks like you had a great vacation! I’ve always wondered that as well. Why is one side getting extremely hot and another extremely cold?? Perhaps if we start being kinder it will make a difference in the world (=
    Panda Hugs, xx

    • Hey baby girl, Nice to hear from you! πŸ™‚
      I had a great time over Xmas, thank you. πŸ™‚ I know it’s the weirdest thing our weather, worldwide!! I do believe we have to be kind to our planet but I also think Planet earth will have her way with us, regardless! I hope your enjoying the break, or has school now returned in the U.S? School here starts 3rd Feb. Hope all is well with you and I’ll be over to check your blog out real soon! Love my Panda hugs. Hugs back, Paula xxxxxxx

  4. The weather has been extreme this summer. Sydney hasn’t had heat wave yet but still weather is up and down. I was praying for no more bushfire. That is one thing I hate about summer.
    I love cricket and Australia is finally doing well, happy πŸ™‚ . I always like to go and see the game as the vibe itself makes you so happy and energetic. Glad you had a great time. Nice to hear from you again. Take care Paula.

    • Hey, nice to hear from you too! πŸ™‚
      Your so right about our summers and the bushfires! The cricket really did make me happy and feel energetic. Not sure about the test matches as I haven’t done that yet! πŸ™‚ I was wondering about Sydney and the weather.
      have a great week, hugs Paula xxx

      • Weather here has been crazy, Last week we have 30-37 degree days and this week it is raining almost every day and it is 22-26 degree. I am hoping good weather for this weekend. Finger crossed.I am not too sure about test cricket either. πŸ™‚

      • In Perth, I would say the season are all pretty much now 1 month longer than they use to be. Fingers crossed for you. Ohh and my toes! haha xxxxx

  5. I feel your pain – with the weight gain
    to the point that I am driven insane
    the body is ageing ~ being slim does not last
    I think it’s time for water and a fresh fruit fast!

    Thankfully our little heat wave has stopped – but there will be another time I’m sure. Take care over there you! Glad you enjoyed the cricket – I would be curled up in a ball snoozing ha ha πŸ™‚ xx

    • Hahahaha! That’s what I thought but I got right into it! Lol
      Oh the darn weight thing drives me batty. Up down up down up down!! Hahaha I so wish I loved water as it would make a huge difference in keeping my weight balanced. I drink coke zero, coke, lemonade and I think I’m going to get slim from that! LMAO Oh yes and that Bourbon bottle! Haha Huge hugs, Mumsy! Love you, Paula xxxx

  6. Al

    Anyone for cricket? Glad you had a good time.

    I think that people who start the fires should face the damage that they did. The tears of people who lost everything, the animals that didn’t survive, the people that didn’t survive, and then take everything from them to help those who lost it all

    • I agree with everything you just said and BTW? I’m in for cricket. πŸ™‚
      But lets play in the U.K as it’s too hot here! Haha
      Have a great day, Alastair. Hugs Paula xxxxx

  7. My dear Paula,
    Its great to read from you. Don’t worry about these 2 extra kilos, that’s part of what Christmas is all about, don’t you think? This is the first Christmas I managed NOT to gain weight (the only thing that grew is the tiny little man inside and my belly) as I am on forced bed rest and have stopped visiting grocery stores and food markets and all those lovely places where you can get some decent junk food. N. & my mother in law have been taking care of my food intake and I can assure you there is nothing UNHEALTHY or FATTENING there :(.
    We always have horrific fires in August (our summer) on the windiest days and they are unfortunately usually lit by imbeciles who want to eventually gain more land to build more crap. Its such a pity and shame.
    Take care hon, lots of hugs and kisses, T

    • Hey T!! πŸ™‚ Heelloo!
      I must admit I had fun putting the weight on but my brain is hard to live with once I get on the scales. I am grossly fanatically crazy when it comes to my weight. Hence once being anorexic and then bulimic. I was damned if I do and damned if I don’t. These days I am much better but still I have a long ways to go!! Lol
      Baby boy? Yay!! How exciting T. But Boo to no junk food. Haha 😦
      I like to eat it and then whinge, something soothing about that! Haha
      Oh yeah I can imagine Greece has some huge fires. Today is 34 degrees but feels much hotter. Tomorrow is 38 degrees.
      Staying in bed is not easy so I’m sending you and baby boy heaps of love and hugs! Mwaah, Paula xxxxx

  8. I sympathize with people at risk, the blaze, and the circumstances in which they find themselves, the most important is to remain calm, poised, do not panic and do not be subject to panic, keep, themselves and others, very carefully carry out the instructions of emergency and rescue. I’d love to be involved in combat action, localization and firefighting, because my profession, my calling, my life’s commitment, protection and rescue of people and property from fire. Truth is that our planet is already tired of our own, striving for domination, for profit, and in the years to come, we’ll all set to take a break or to our nature, will not save – and what will we then all those millions … All these profits. I wish you all the best
    lovingly maxima

    • Hey Stefan, I loved your comment and views on the fires. πŸ™‚
      I’m amazed how many people choose to stay and fight the fire to save their homes. Obviously some had to get out quickly as they weren’t succeeding. Personally I would freak and wouldn’t know what to do, I think I would get my animals and just leave. As for our planet I think it’s getting tired too and at times gets angry with us! πŸ™‚ I think being brave enough to become a firefighter would be so rewarding yet at times very sad also! Loved your comment, thank you! Sending you many Aussie hugs, Paula xxx

  9. yourmumknowsbest

    Hello Paula

    Good to see you back, you shouldn’t worry about an extra kilo that is what christmas is all about eating and drinking lots and lots and more πŸ™‚ I am sure you wont take long to lose it with plenty of exercise
    So you had never been to the cricket before your friend must have been brave to take you, it is exciting the 20/20 matches though always something happening, sounds like you had a great time πŸ™‚
    Yes bushfires are a part of the aussie summer, we have a had a run of hot weather over here in beautiful Victoria, and a number a large bushfires those firefighters do a marvelous job, given a majority of them are volunteers
    sending you hugs take care

    • Hey, how’s things?
      I know, but I am crazy when it comes to my weight. πŸ™‚ Pffft exercise and what is that? Haha Just teasing you, sorry! πŸ™‚
      I’m really glad I went and didn’t just fob it off. πŸ™‚
      I’ve seen the news about the Victorian fires and they are huge too!
      Never really thought about the fact that heaps of these men are volunteers, good point! They are brave in my eyes as those fires look terrifying! Thanks for the hugs. πŸ™‚ Sending them back! Paula xxxx

  10. Welcome back! I trust weather, I tend to wear everything I need all at once including in summer because there is no point in planning anything weather related. If i could i would poke weather with a stick. xx

    • Hahahaha! Seriously you made me laugh so much. πŸ™‚
      Can you poke that stick my way and tell it to magically, GO AWAY!!
      It is 11.30pm and is still too hot. Where’s Gandalf when I need him? Lol
      Hope all is well with you! Hugs Paula xxxx

  11. I am so glad to see you again dear Paula, seems that you had a nice time. I know the weather because I heard on television news… and here it should be winter but we still very warm days… world changes as you mentioned. Thank you, have a nice day, love, nia

    • Hey Nia! πŸ™‚
      That’s interesting to know that your weather has changed too! πŸ™‚ The planet is trying to tell us all something, but we’re not listening! Maybe we should start or maybe our scientific intellectuals should help us understand a little better! πŸ™‚
      Huge hugs from Oz, Paula xxxx

  12. I heard of the hot weather and the fires. I hope it will get now more agreeable.

  13. Great that you are back, Paula…
    …I was just recently going directly to your site hoping for a new post…

    …but finally, there it is.

    I hope you are well.

    Greetings,
    rabirius.

  14. I’m glad you had a wonderful time, but also glad you’re back. You’ve been missed.

    • Hey Bradley! πŸ™‚
      Missed you guys too. πŸ™‚
      Go you on your weight loss! I need your determination right now. I don’t have much to lose, but you know with medication how easy it is to put the weight back on and MORE! Lol πŸ™‚ Have a great day, hugs Paula xxxxx

  15. Bonjour Paula! πŸ™‚ just to greet you, to give u a huge hug and send you the best vibes in town… πŸ™‚ P.S. oh, I’ve noticed recently that another blogger(dunno his/her name!) has exactly the same koala avatar… does it ring any bell?… πŸ™‚

  16. Personally I believe that someone upstairs is pissed at a great many of us and is trying to send a message. Kerry πŸ™‚

  17. I’m sorry the weather is so terrible there. It has been much cooler than usual here. My xtra weight comes from the beer, cheese, and bread country. I guess if I went to exercise country, I’d lose some of it. But that’s a lot like work.

    • Hahahaha! πŸ™‚
      πŸ™‚
      I so need that exercise county! Ohhh cheese is so good, right? Lol I watch the news and see how parts of America are so cold and iced over and here we are on fire on the other side of the world. Our poor world is changing! Hugs xxxx

  18. hello, Paula… happy new year, dear. πŸ™‚ hope 2014 will be better for us… btw, this is a thoughtful post. keep on writing… πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

