Living with a black dog

Hi everyone!

My son’s girlfriend showed me this really helpful guide for people living with depression and people living with people who have depression.
It’s called: “Living with a black dog” and can be purchased here.

The site has other illustrated books that help control other mental illness such as Anxiety, they were written by a man who also suffers and as such they’re much more relatable.

In a collaboration with the World Health Organization, they’ve released a narrated video of the book.
I think everyone should check it out as it’s very insightful and helpful.

Hugs and kisses! πŸ™‚
xoxo

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Living with a black dog

  1. Will we ever feel happy? It seems that no matter how good things are there is always a sadness underneath…….happy is so hard to do sometimes….

    • Hey Ivonne, I agree it sometimes feels like it’s never going to get better, but then you wake up one day and the sun is shining and you can actually feel it! I suppose for some of us life at times is a bit of a roller coaster ride of emotions. One we don’t want but one we have to learn to live with. It’s hard to find things you once loved and enjoyed doing now impossible to think of, never mind do! Yet I still believe when one door closes another door opens. How we handle that is up to us..it’s only the over all outcome that matters. Broken Trust and a broken heart are not easy things to want to smile about. I think your wonderful and have a huge heart and have made many people happy in your life and in your work!
      So even when at times you may not have been happy? You have made others very happy! Everyone that comes to my house and see’s Sakura on my computer screen? I tell them you photo shopped it for me and I got it at a time when I was really down, but then you made me feel happy! So, I hug you and thank you for making me one of the people you have made happy.
      Hugs to the girls. Paula xxx

      • Oh thank you, you are so sweet. It’s like that old story of this man who is so depressed and the therapists tell him to go and see the clown at the circus because that will make him feel better and they guys tells the therapist, ” I am that clown”. I have always related to that story. I don’t aim for happy so much as “not depressed” if that makes any sense but there are things that do make me feel happy even if for a short time. πŸ™‚

      • Absolutely! And I love that story. πŸ™‚ Love to you. xxxx

  2. A good video, Winston Churchill used to use the term black dog all the time and it is well documented what he did. As long as there are people out there willing to support anybody with depression, not to mention better understanding and education then it will help a lot more. That is the way forward.

    • Morning! πŸ™‚

      I agree. I think it’s a great video and easy to relate to.
      It’s often the ones that love and care for us that get forgotten!

      Hope you have a great day when you rise and shine. πŸ™‚
      Hugs Paula xxxx

  3. Good video. Thanks for sharing!

    Greetings,
    rabirius.

    • Hi Rabirius. πŸ™‚

      I think so too! Glad you took the time to look, thank you!
      Enjoy your day. Perth is warm and sunny. Just thought I would give you the weather forecast. Lol

      Hugs Paula xxx

  4. Good video, I emailed it to someone πŸ’šπŸ’œπŸ’™ xx

Leave a Reply

