What have I been up to?

Heeelllooo!

 

I’ve taken some time away from blogging as I have been preoccupied with moving into my knew house. ย Yay!!!

It’s nearly 2 years old and quite modern, I love it! It’s a breath of fresh air and is so white and clean!

Then, my son needed me to babysit his boys for a week, and boy is that tiring; they are 4 and 8 and even though they aren’t exactly babies, it’s still really tiring when you’re not used to it! I suppose with my sons being 22 and 30 my life isn’t really about them anymore and I’ve become probably selfish in what I want my free time to be. I would go to the moon and back for my sons but as they are now no longer at home, my time is spent around what I want to do. So, when little kids get thrown into that mix I’m not used to it! Lol
I’ve also been to Bali with 2 of my closest friends and had such a great time, a well needed rest!
We shopped, ate and drank, then we shopped, ate, and drank some more; this continued every single day we were there and I absolutely loved it! ย Bali is incredibly relaxing and that’s what I am sure a lot of people go for, a weekend getaway in a tropical paradise.
We would go down to the beach in the afternoons and have a drink whilst our feet were buried in the sand, just watching the sun going down. Ahhhh, a slice of heaven! If only life was always that simple, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

Bali from Western Australia is very cheap, believe it or not it’s cheaper than going to Sydney! If you haven’t been and ever get the chance, then take it. It’s one of those places where you can just walk the streets in your shorts and t-shirt and won’t look out of place. The only drawback is if you don’t enjoy bartering, because then the shopping will get a little on your nerves. You should NEVER let them know it’s your first time in Bali, Why? Because they will realise you don’t know what things really cost. To the Balinese these goods are worth mere cents due to the mass production of imitation brands from the Island’s factories or from Mainland China, but a lot of newcomers to Bali don’t understand this and will happily pay $20 for a T-shirt that would cost $30 back home, but most regulars will pay $5. ย Most things like shirts/dresses/shorts/t-shirts cost roughly $5 and $10. Super cheap and beautiful sarongs for $3-$5.

This week I have my brothers 3 children as he’s going away with my sister in law on a conference, his children are 7, 12 and 15 and they’re so much easier to look after than small children!

Then in November when all my babysitting duties are all over, I start a massage course (Therapeutic) for 7 weeks full-time which I’m really looking forward to. I just have to remember all the muscles in the body and how to pronounce some of them! Hahaha. The course costs $5, 500 which is way more than I thought it would. The Remedial costs $10,500 so that’s why I opted for the therapeutic but with this certificate you can still work from home and that’s all that really mattered to me.

I decided I needed to find something that I would enjoy doing as much as I loved renovating homes for all those years. This way I’m also my own boss and can travel or do as much work as I do or don’t won’t to do! Having Bipolar is tricky and there is some days that life is just too hard to understand, and therefore you are pretty much no good to anyone until you can get back on track. Plus I love being around people and making them happy and I think massage can do that. I haven’t met many people they hated being massaged, now if you feel like that, then tell me and hopefully I can learn what NOT to do to someone! Any help or tips would be great. ๐Ÿ™‚ All feedback welcomed!

Actually even though I have BPD ย (Borderline Personality Disorder) I don’t tick all the boxes relevant to BPD. Luckily for me I adore people and don’t self harm. So I think I’ve picked the right job for now.

I really miss blogging but I just couldn’t get my head around it with everything that’s been going on in my life.

I hope all of you are well and life is treating you kindly.

Hugs to you all,
Paula xxx


 

35 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

35 responses to “What have I been up to?

  1. Welcome back to the fold lovely. Yay you taking on the massage course and doing something for You! Bali..ah memories, glad you had a good time away with your girls and congrats on the new house! Life certainly has changed hasn’t it?! ๐Ÿ˜Š

  2. So great to see you again, Paula, and to know that you’ve been having fun. Yes, Bali is such a super place, and I did some good shopping there. ๐Ÿ™‚ The massage course sounds perfect. You can come and practise on me any time you like. ๐Ÿ™‚ Take care, and enjoy looking after your brother’s kids. I’m sure they love their aunt to bits. Hugs and love. Sylvia xx

  3. Welcome back. I hope it will be for awhile. Good luck on the career change. I love it when people take risks to do something that can improve their lives.

    • Hey Bradley! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thank you and I really hope to be able to blog a little more. I’m thinking I make the posts shorter and maybe that would help me. The good thing is I’m in a really good place right now and I hope I can sustain that. You know personally how hard that can sometimes be, right?

      Feels a little scary to venture in a different direction, and to have to study anatomy. I’m really excited at the same time though! Hugs to you. Paula xxxx

  4. Morning Sylvia! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Glad you enjoy Bali as much as I do too. If you were here I would practice on you! ๐Ÿ™‚ I have to massage 20 different people and come up with an action plan on how to help their injury. I didn’t write it but I’m also learning Sports and Deep Tissue Massage. As for my niece and nephews, I bought pizza for dinner last night and leaving soon to take them to see Ninja Turtles. I’m trying to score highly in the Aunty department!! Hahaha.
    I shall pop over to your blog later today and see where life has taken you.
    Super big hug to you. Paula xxxx

  5. Welcome back Paula. Looks like you have been really busy with kids :). I hope you enjoy your new career. Take care.

    • Thank you!! I really have been full on with babysitting for the last month.
      My poor cat runs to me for protection! Lol Life will soon to back to normal.

      I shall come across to see what you’ve been up to. Love to you and hubby. Paula xxx

  6. Lovely to hear from you–have not been blogging much myself either. Did you take pix in Bali? would love to see them. Nice about the massage training–I am looking into getting certified in Reiki.

    • Hey Ivonne! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Great to hear from you too! I used to be so good at taking photos and now I hardly ever take them. I think I need to start taking them again. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ve heard a lot about Reiki, all good things! My mum is very spiritual and totally believes in it. I wish you all the best with it. I hope all is well with you and the girls?

      Hugs to you and the girls. Paula xxxx

  7. Welcome back, I have missed you muchly, You’ve had a busy time of it, busy eating,drinking and shopping that is! I will be happy to volunteer for a massage as I have magically just developed knots in my back and shoulders. xx

    • Hahahaha! You cracked me up. ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh And I missed your comments! ๐Ÿ™‚

      You know eating, drinking and shopping takes a lot out of you! Lol
      Give me a couple of months to get my certificate, then head on over!
      I shall have you fit as a fiddle. Hmmm, not sure how fit a fiddle can get though?? Hahaha The amount of money the airfare would cost you, it would probably pay for massages for the rest of your life!! Lol

      Hope your enjoying the weekend! Hugs to you. Paula xxxx

      • I really should have considered the ratio of massages over here to cost of a flight but if I was sensible then I wouldn’t live in a giant shoe…and that would be boring!

        The weekend has treated me well except for a short stay at work, I hope your weekend has been equally fun and then a bt more of you did not find yourself working.

      • I had a great weekend with my niece and nephews. My baby siting is officially over as of last night. I am once again free and selfish! Hahaha

  8. yourmumknowsbest

    Hey Paula,
    Great to see you back, sounds like your been enjoying life, I had a friend visit Bali recently she too had a great time๐Ÿ˜›, only was problem was I had to baby sit her cat for 5 days the pressure of it all was nearly way tooooooo much๐Ÿ˜น it the end we both survived๐Ÿ˜ธ the pussy cat was great company๐Ÿ˜›

    • Hahahaha! You cracked me up. Trust me cats are way easier to babysit than children! My son looks after my cat for me as he adores her as if she was his child. Lucky you didn’t loose it, can you imagine if you did? My Kura is my child and I only trust those really close to me to look after her. Sounds weird, I know, but she’s everything to me.Bali is great and I think everyone that visits there enjoys themselves.BTW: Great to see you back here. Hope you had a great weekend. Hugs Paula xxxx

  9. welcome back, Aussie gal! โค ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. great to see another post from youa lot of the blogs I keep up with and follow are from Australia

  11. Girl, a new house and a trip to Bali with friends?!! You are a very blessed lady. enjoy!!!

  12. Thanks for the update, Paula! Sounds great. Wishing you success!
    Hugs, Greg ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. welcome back and hugs to you too Paula ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Welcome back!

    I hope you enjoy your new home – and I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Bali.

    Greetings,
    rabirius.

  15. hi, love the blog. I became a grandmother 5 months ago, and I still have kids at home who need me and now a single mom at that. I don’t want to feel like I am raising another child, I do love my son, I will let you know when I want to babysit!!! so I do understand. When is it our time? I am still waiting for that. I am jealous as I don’t know if I will ever get to travel. keep blogging love to live thru others experiences and see how they are doing their life.

    hugs,
    Kitty ( another tired grandmother)

    • Hi Kitty! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I became a nana at 38 and still had a 14 year old son at home too. It was so bizarre at the time. Lol
      I suppose that’s what I get from being a teenage mum.

      You will eventually get there and believe me it’s soooo worth the wait! ๐Ÿ™‚ It will then be, KITTY time!

      Hugs Paula xxxx

  16. Hi there! I see you enjoy your holiday in Bali. It’s always good to hear that ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m agree with your thought. Just like in some places like Pattaya and Phuket, never let them know that it’s your first time in Bali! I have to admit that. – and about the price as well. I can even bargain and get around $1-$5 for the same things. Maybe because I’m Indonesian. It’s just like not fair at all and I’d love to help friends about this someday.
    I also hope you enjoy your new home. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Nice to meet you and your blog.

    Cheers from Yogyakarta, Indonesia.
    Anggi

    • I love Bali! My brother lived in Indonesia (Manado) for 10 years and now lives in Laos. He’s a driller. Whenever he took me shopping I came home with heaps more than when I went alone! I’m sure it makes a bigger difference when you speak the language or live in the same country.
      Thanks for coming across to my blog. Enjoy the rest of the week.
      Hugs Paula xx

Leave a Reply

