Feeling Better

IMG_20140313_122239_861

IMG_20140304_094349_076

IMG_20140307_130216_385

IMG_20140308_103757_438

IMG_20140308_103846_378

IMG_20140312_083439_922

IMG_20140313_122350_966

IMG_20140306_163837_957

IMG_20140306_163939_243

Hey guys, hows things?

Well I have had 7 ECT’s  (electro convulsive therapy) and am still in Perth Clinic.

I have 1 more ECT left which will be tomorrow, Wednesday the 19th March… MY BIRTHDAY!!

Not my favourite way to spend my birthday but I am becoming happy cheery me once again. I have cried so much I scared myself – I didn’t think that could be possible, but I did!  Perth Clinic really is a terrific psychiatric hospital. It’s like being in a 5 star hotel – even the food is restaurant quality. The staff are all personable and approachable. It feels as if you are being counselled by a friend, that’s how beautifully trained they are.  In fact, one of the nurses asked me if I have a blog, which of course I told her I do. She told me she reads this here blog and so to her I would like to say, HELLO!! Lol. You have given me some great training exercises. On top of all that, you have been so friendly and helpful and I thank you for the support and friendship you showed me during a really hard time of my life.

I am feeling better. One day at a time, but things are improving. There are a number of people that have provided unending support during these past few dark weeks, and I would like to take a few moments to acknowledge them…

A big thank you to my boyfriend. He could have left me during this hard time in my life, but he didn’t, he’s stayed by my side and for that I can truly say, I LOVE YOU! Before I felt alone for whatever the reason, but I no longer feel alone, I feel your presence. Thank you for loving me and staying by my side, I will never forget it. Your love will not be wasted on me as I love you more than words can say.

And my son, my beautiful handsome son, who has been by my side every single night. He’s a killer ladies, but I’m not allowed to show a photo of him. Lol His name is Kieran and I adore him and love him for the unconditional love he has shown me while I have been in hospital. He has been my pillar of strength and I will never forget the support he has provided. I really don’t think I would have made it if it wasn’t for him. And my sister, my gorgeous sister, I love you and thank you for your love and support in this last few weeks. This is not easy for my family to have gone through and for all their love and support I thank them immensely. They have been by my side all the way and I am so very grateful.

I am able to publish this post tonight but am unlikely to be able to respond to comments until after I am released tomorrow. On my birthday!

I have spend time at home over the last weekend. You are allowed home on weekends but this was the first time I had done so – I was too sick over the weekends before. You’re allowed home till 9pm each day on the weekend, and Kieran was lovely in assisting me in getting there and back. It felt good to be back in my home, and it was especially wonderful to spend time with my beloved Sakura.

So life will soon be back to normal for Paula. So to all of you and all of your well wishes??? I love you and embrace you for the love and support that you showed me during a very difficult time in my life.  To anyone else that is still suffering? I hug you and say be kind to yourself, one day at a time. Be kind to yourself and know we are all here for you.

Much love to you all,

hugs and much much love, Paula xxxxxx

39 Comments

Filed under Fight Depression, My experiences, My treatments

39 responses to “Feeling Better

  1. i hope you have a happy birthday tomorrow!

  2. Paula, You look great and I’m so happy that you are feeling better!
    Love the update and all the photos.

    Happy Birthday!!!! 🙂 Lots of Hugs!!

    Greg

    • Morning Greg, I hug you and thank you for the support. Its been a really hard 3 weeks of my life and I don’t wish it upon anyone! In couldn’t believe it when my world fell apart, again! But I’ve had much counselling and are feeling really good about life. Again I thank you. Hugs Paula xxxx

  3. Happy Birthday Paula ! and what a wonderful gift …to get to go home. Thank you so much for your honesty and revealing your soul as you do it has helped me personally on so many levels. Enjoy your special day and I look forward to hearing more from you. 🙂

    • Hello and welcome to my blog. 🙂 What a beautiful comment you left me. I really appreciate it, so thank you! 🙂 It’s great to be home and especially with my Sakura (Cat) lol she’s the love of my life and brings me great comfort. Have a great day, hugs Paula xxxxxx

  4. Hey, Paula! You look great and I’m happy you are feeling much better!
    Happy birthday from Cristi and Monica! 🙂

    • Hi Cristi, thank you! 🙂
      I’m so looking forward to going home today. 3 weeks away from my beloved Sakura is terrible. She may be a cat but to me she’s my child. 🙂 Really looking forward to get back to blogging. Miss your blog. Thank you for the birthday wishes. Much love back to you and Monica. Xxxxxx

  5. Happy Birthday, Paula 🙂 xxoo

  6. I’m so glad to know you are better! I want to wish you an early happy birthday just in case I don’t get around to it tomorrow! I hope that it’s a day full of joy for you!!!

    Birthday hugs,

    -Mari

  7. Happy Birthday sweety!!!! – thank you for keeping us updated, you are looking really well, sorry about the treatments you have had to endure, but if they are helping you, which they seem to be, then more power to you. Your flowers look beautiful, the meals look pretty delicious too 😉 Glad that your family have been so supportive and of course your B/F I smiled when I read that part. Take it easy on your return, blog when you can..but rest up first 🙂 xxxx Hugs and love.

    • MY lovely Mumsy, I’ve missed you. It’s been an awful time in my life but I’m grateful for all those that stayed close by me and protected me. Home still feels very odd to me but I’m sure in time things will settle down for me. The ECT’s have made me forget somethings which is a little distressing at times. I’ve come home with the shakes in my left hand which I’m hoping will go away. I may be a little quiet on the blog front just till I get some kind of routine happening. I have to go back once a week for ETC maintenance. I’m not looking forward to it. 😦
      Much love to you. Hugs Paula xxxxxx

  8. Welcome home! … and… HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! 🙂 🙂

  9. Al

    Sorry, I am very very late getting to this. I hope you are feeling better. Your treatments are behind you now, and you are home. I hope you had a good birthday after you came out. Not an ideal way, but at least you are home which is the main thing.

    Take care of yourself Paula

    • Hey my Alastair, 🙂

      I had a great night, thank you! Must admit it’s good to be home. Not looking forward to more treatments but I suppose it’s in my best interest, right? 🙂 Much love to you, Paula xxxxx

  10. yourmumknowsbest

    Paula, Sorry to read you were back in hospital but your now home and it was your birthday. That would be the best present going home on your birthday. Hope you had a great birthday full of happiness and of course great pressies. Glad to see your family were very supportive of you while you were in hospital and your boyfriend he must be special 😆 you better keep him haha
    Hope life gets back to normal for you quickly

    • My family were amazing during my hospitalization. 🙂 My son was my rock and still is. He treats me like his child, not sure how much I like that though! Hahahaha 🙂
      As for my boyfriend? he’s a keeper for sure. I would be lost without him, especially now. 🙂 Not sure how long before life will get back to some sort of normality, hopefully not too long though!
      Thank you for the support. Hugs to you, Paula xxxxxx

  11. Still thinking about you. Prayers and hugs and smiles! 🙂 -Paul

  12. Hi Paula…..so glad to hear that your are healing and surrounded by love and support …monster hug from London xxx Andrea

  13. I’m so glad that you are feeling better, Paula! I am sure Sakura missed you, too!

    • Hey, how are you? Yes, Sakura definitely missed me. She wouldn’t leave me alone when I returned. I just have to go back once a week for treatment. I suppose it’s better than 3 times a week, right? Many hugs to you, Paula xxxxxx

  14. Hi babe! you do look great and I’m really glad to see you back… ❤
    sunny and heartfelt feelings, cheers! 🙂 Mélanie

    • Hey my Melanie, thank you for the well wishes. I’m trying really hard to get back on top of things. 🙂 One day at a time is my new motto!
      Many Aussie hugs to you, Paula xxxxxxx

  15. June

    Heeey Paula! Huuuugs! Geez, I know it’s super late but I want to greet you, belated Happy Birthday. It’s nice to know that you’re feeling better – the words and images in your post resonate that. Does that clinic have tourist packages I could choose from? lol. I’m just glad all is well with you and you know I always hope for your wellness. Hug Sakura for me please. Have good one Paula!

    • Hey Juney, thank you for the birthday wishes! How are you, is life being kind to you? I so miss my blog family. The clinic is truly a brilliant psychiatric hospital and if you were ever to become unwell? it’s the place you would want to be! 🙂 I am slowly but surely getting better. I shall hug my Kura for you!! Huge big gigantic hug my friend. Paula xxxxx

      • June

        Hello Paula! I’m doing great, I hope you too on your end. Haha the clinic seems like a good place for medical tourism. Hugging back!

  16. I’m so glad you’re feeling better, Paula. Sorry I missed your birthday, as I’d switched off my notifications whilst I was away, visiting my daughter in Johannesburg. I hope you had a very happy birthday and homecoming. How wonderful that you have so many people supporting you through this tough time. Take care, and keep your chin up. 😀 Lots of love and hugs to you. xx

    • Evening Sylvia, hope you had a great time with your daughter. I really have had a great support network behind me and without them? I don’t think I would have made it this time. I had lost all hope Sylvia and was in a bad place. Thank you so much for the well wishes. I miss you guys heaps and hope to be back blogging real soon. Huge hugs Paula xxxxx

Leave a Reply

