Merry Christmas

santa-clause-sparkle-animation

Merry Christmas Everyone!

To me this is a very special time of year. I’m not religious so to me it’s a time of year when we get together with those we love and celebrate the day. Santa is huge in our family and the kids just love seeing him. Watching their faces light up when he enters the room? Priceless! Β It brings the kid in me out even more and that’s a lot people!! Lol

Unfortunately, it can also be a time filled with despair for many families struggling to make ends meet. It also highlights a time for those alone that have no one in their lives – no family or friends to celebrate with. As a result, Depression and the feeling of hopelessness can be very high for these people and therefore my heart and love go out to all of them. If I could scoop them all up and surround them with my love, I would! As I’m sure many of you would too. So if you read this and you’re celebrating alone? I want you to know that on the 25th of December Β I will be thinking of you all and sending as much love telepathically to you as the universe will allow.

Tomorrow morning I will be waking up alone with my Sakura and Christmas bear (Harry) by my side and I will slowly slide out of bed and make myself a latte. Being alone, it will feel like just another day.

But then my son will arrive at 9.30am hug me and wish me Merry Christmas. Now he’s 6 ft 3 1/2 so that’s a lot of arms and love around me. Can’t wait! πŸ™‚ Β  Then he will take me to my nephew’s house where we will celebrate the day with all our family members.

Now, this is when you know it’s Christmas! Β I will be greeted by many little people running around hugging my legs and wishing me Merry Christmas and telling me what Santa had bought them. It’s the best part of the day for me and makes me so happy!

There will be 35 of us and I’m predicting the day will be very hot as it is most years in Western Australia.

There will be a blow up fun slide and water guns given to everyone. Boy does the little kid come out in all the men folk in the family at that point. Don’t even try to avoid the water gun or you only make yourself a bigger target for all of them to attack you with water! Β It’s funny and annoying at the same time. Lol

The day will start with tea/coffee, Christmas cake and fruit mince pies. Or an alcoholic beverage for those in the festive spirit. No pun intended. πŸ™‚ Followed by Santa giving out the presents then lunch. Because Perth is so hot most food for us consist of many different kinds of salads. Of course garlic potato because it’s so yummy. Our meats are a turkey which is stuffed with a chicken and then stuffed with a quail. VERY YUMMY indeed and then glazed ham with cherries. YUMMY! And bread rolls to soak up all the gravy also YUMMY!! Lol Β  Finishing with trifle, fresh fruit salad, icecream, and pavlova. That’s if you can fit it in? Β I make room for dessert. πŸ™‚ Β Hence the treadmill! Hahahaha

Some years we cook seafood but not this year. It’s up to the person who is hosting the day to decide what everyone should bring. Because the family is so large it takes years before it’s your turn again, so that’s really cool and makes for a different Christmas each time.

So have a wonderful Christmas and I hope you all enjoy the day no matter what or how you celebrate it.

Do you have any kind of special tradition that you or your family always do?

Love and many many hugs to you all, MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Β Paula & Sakura Β xxxxx

image source

43 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

43 responses to “Merry Christmas

  1. Al

    Have a wonderful Christmas Paula πŸ™‚

  2. shejustwantedlove

    Have an amazing Christmas and New Year Paula! (:
    That turkey stuffed with chicken thats stuffed with quails sounds so delicious! I will need to try that one day haha.
    As for a special tradition, each year our family makes a bunch of cookies to give to each family member. They are very colorful and of course Christmas themed! We always use our christmas cookie cutters this time of the year. They are very delicious, or at least that’s what the little kids say aha!
    Wishing you the best dear! ^-^
    xxx Bea

    • Hey Baby girl, really happy to hear from you. πŸ™‚
      You must be pleased that schools out! πŸ™‚ That sounds like so much fun and full of colour. I love it!!
      Wishing you all the best for next year and keep up all the great work you’ve been doing on your drawings. Merry Christmas, Bea!!
      Hugs Paula xxxxx

  3. Have a wonderful day Paula πŸ™‚ It sounds like the day will be filled with lots of love and very good food! Enjoy
    All the best,
    Lucy :))

    • Hi Lucy! πŸ™‚
      I love the day with my family as it’s always so much fun to be around so many little people! Lol Plus I get to love them and then go home. Hahaha
      Merry Christmas to you and your family! Hugs Paula xxxxx

  4. Merry Christmas to you and yours. Be blessed!

  5. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2014 to you Paula..Much Love & Blessings !!

  6. You will have an amazing day darling. Such a beautiful post too. Thank you for your friendship this last year, for your encouragement to everyone, for your thoughtfulness.

    Wishing you and Sakura and all your family and animals combined a beautiful Christmas and may your dreams come true in the New Year.

    Hugs precious xoxoxo

    • Oh huge hugs Mumsy! I cried so much last night when I read your post about our Katiekins. I bet she’s shining down on all of us and nodding!
      I thank you too for your friendship and support over the last year and are so looking forward to that drink! πŸ™‚
      Oh I so hope those dreams come true! πŸ™‚
      Merry Christmas to you and your family! Many hugs Paula xxx

      • Thanks pumpkin-pie πŸ˜‰ I am sure they will πŸ™‚ Yes we shall miss her greatly ~ but she is nodding and telling us to carry on as usual I am sure.
        Hugs and yes look forward to that drink also!
        xxxx

  7. Hi babe! thanx a bunch of X-mas stars for your lines dropped at my playground… you did touch my heart…<3 I wish you my very best, now and always… lots of hugs and c u soon, darlin'! Melanita… πŸ™‚

  8. Merry Christmas and Happy Holiday dear Paula, Thank you, love and hugs, nia

  9. yourmumknowsbest

    Hello Paula

    Hope you had a great day with your family yesterday and that Santa looked after you.

    The Turkey stuffed with chicken and quail sounds delicious perhaps I should come to your Christmas next year it beats our beef and ham lunch. I had a great day with my family yesterday it was really hot so water bombs became very popular with the kids big and little hahaha

    thanks for your support dearest Paula I send you many hugs x

    • I got hit by some water bombs yesterday at a friends house, they were little kids, not big ones! Haha πŸ™‚
      Bringing a stranger to Christmas might be a little odd for my family. LMAO
      But hey, to me everyone should be welcome, right? BTW: The turkey really is amazing and I hope one day you get to try it. I’m sure you will.
      Thank you back for your support and I’m sending you heaps of hugs, Paula xxxxx

  10. Merry Christmas my friend, I’m making new traditions this year, although I did look up on Christmas eve…I like to do that at night usually for planes.

    • That’s cool! πŸ™‚ Merry Christmas to you too. πŸ™‚
      I’m so tired from all the drinking and going out! Hahaha Getting too old for all this stuff. Lol Hope you had a wonderful day! Hugs Paula xxxxx

  11. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas. I did. Took the holiday completely off. Even from my blog.

  12. Hey big sis !! Just checking in to see if you are okaay and having fun πŸ™‚ Lots of love xx

  13. Belated Christmas greetings to you my friend. May the New Years be a blessed one for YOUβ™₯

    • Thank you, Laurie! πŸ™‚
      You made me smile with your comment and I hope it’s a premonition for a great year for all here on WordPress! Hope you had a great day with your grandson. πŸ™‚ Hugs Paula xxxxx

  14. June

    Oh Christmas here is a season of endless parties and reunions. Gleeful and annoying at the same time. πŸ˜€
    Santa is not that big in this part of the world. Perhaps because there ain’t much chimneys and there is zero snow here. He frequents the mall maybe because it has a centralized AC. I can’t blame him though. With his humongous hair, weight and costume, it would be hard to roam around that much in a tropical place. πŸ™‚
    But we have parties. Lots and lot of parties even though we have mellowed down this year because of the tragedy. Still we always keep a festive spirit. πŸ™‚
    Merry Christmas Paula!

    • Hello Juney Babe! πŸ™‚
      You made me laugh so much about the big man in red. πŸ™‚ I told Bacon that I think I saw Santa and Mrs Claus chilling out on one of our beaches here. Christmas is over and they are apparently vacationing on some beach so I picked western Australia. Hahaha
      Ohhh I have been out so much that I’m now exhausted and need some home time to chill out! πŸ™‚ Hope you had a great day, June! I’m sending you heaps of cyber hugs for the New Year! Paula xxxxx

  15. Good mornin'(here!), sunshine! πŸ™‚ Thanx for dropping by my playground, dearest Paula… I wish you a serene end of this year and my very best for the coming one: health, joy, optimism and lots of love…<3 same heartfelt feelings and friendly hugs… MΓ©lanie

    • Thank you, Melanie! I wish you all those things as well. πŸ™‚
      I hug you and hope your having a great day. What ever you do for New Years I wish you a wonderful night. Love to you, Paula xxx

  16. “HAPPY NEW YEAR”
    My Beautiful blogger friend, dear Paula, I wanted to say a big Thank YOU. Your positive touches, your smiling face always find a place in my heart. Thank you being there and sharing with us, Thank you for visiting and giving amazing comments. Blessing and Happiness, love, nia

    • Happy New Year to you too, Nia!! πŸ™‚
      You made me smile so much with what you just wrote, thank you!!
      I love you and your blog and I will always support your blog. May 2014 be a great year for you. Love to you, Paula xxxxx

Leave a Reply

