Sakura, my love

IMG_20130915_195347_592

sakura 004

sakura 005

sakura 006

I did a post about Sakura months ago and have been asked to post a photo of her many times since then.

So without further ado…. Here is the great love of my life!

Sakura is 10 in human years and is a very small cat. Although she’s a moggy cat she thinks she’s a pedigree. Lol

Her name means cherry blossom in Japanese. Her nicknames are Kura and Princess. No matter what time of the day or night I come home, 9 out of 10 times she’s half asleep waiting at the front door to greet me.

When I sleep she cuddles right into me like a teddy bear. Because I have insomnia and sleep apnea she can tell when my breathing changes and she nudges me to wake up. I’ve always found this sixth sense in animals incredible. If she feels I’ve neglected her, she goes to her toy box picks a toy out, then calls for me to play with her. And If I ignore her? Lordy… She just howls louder. She’s an inside cat and has never gone outside. The house I recently moved from was really large and she had plenty of space, so don’t feel sorry for her. However the house I am currently renting is only 3 bed 1 bathroom. Her old house was 5 bedrooms 3 bathrooms, but like the vet said – she’s older and more settled than when she was younger and wanting to Β race from one end of the house to the other, up the stairs, down the stairs, up the stairs… You get the message. Lol

The vet tells me the space is sufficient and not to stress. So I’m not going to fret over it. πŸ™‚

I also have 2 weiros (small parrots). I love birds so much – a good reason I don’t want her outside, being able to hunt and hill the native wildlife. Plus if she’s sleeping in my bed tucked under my arm? I don’t need birdie breath breathing on me. LMAO
Yet this is another thing I find fascinating – who likes morning breath? No one, right? But as I wake sometimes her nose is pressed right up against my mouth. Yikes!! At this point you’re probably cringing, right? Nonetheless I’ll continue… Hopefully without totally grossing you out. Lol.Β Now, no one else would do that without telling you to go brush your teeth, agreed? LMAO But to my princess… I’m mum and that smell is what tells her I’m mum. She can’t get close enough to me.

She loves my morning breath, my messy hair, my sexy elmo P.J’s. Lol. No matter what, she just loves me. Now, WHO WOULDN’T want someone like that in their lives? πŸ™‚

She frequently follows me around like a puppy dog, waiting for me to finish whatever I’m doing as she’s dying to hop on my lap. The moment my laptop is on? She’s on my knee looking at the screen and following the letters. She does this until she can’t stay awake and then curls back up on my lap.

She is honestly like a child to me and brings so much joy to my world. If I’m down, and feeling low, and especially if I cry, she will smother with love… Almost as if she knows I have to smile and it’s her duty to make sure I do. It’s really peculiar, and makes me love her all the more.

With her in my life, I never feel completely alone. She loves me unconditionally, and I give the same back to her.

Maryanne, who I follow and vice versa, just lost her beloved Billy cat after 19 years. When she cried I cried for her as I can imagine the pain of losing something you have loved for so very long. My heart goes out to Maryanne and Dennis…. Love to you, Maryanne!

I know Sakura won’t live forever, so I cherish each and every day that I have her in my life.
As I type this, she’s watching on my knee. Lol

Do you have a pet that you adore like a child? A sweet little animal that loves you, morning breath and all?

sakura january 18th fooling around in clown room 031

sakura january 18th fooling around in clown room 029

Hugs to you all, Paula xxxxx

62 Comments

Filed under What makes me happy

62 responses to “Sakura, my love

  1. Hi, Paula.She’s just adorable, and I do understand how you love her so much. I also had a really affectionate tabby cat who loved nothing better than lying on her back, on my lap, and having her tummy rubbed. She was unfortunately killed by a car, and for a long time afterwards, I could still feel her brushing against my legs as I stood working in the kitchen. I hope Sakura will be with you for many years yet. *hugs*

    • Hi Sylvia, πŸ™‚
      I hope she is too! My fingers and toes are crossed that she will. πŸ™‚
      Really sorry to hear about your cat. I nearly cried reading how you felt as if you could feel her brushing up against your leg. 😦
      Have a great day, hugs Paula xxxx

  2. Can she be any cuter? Thank you for posting Sakura, Paula. Cats are so loyal to their humans. You know I have two. More than I can handle. Two cats = four real children. Less costly tho and less headache. Tee hee…
    Have a wonderful day. Perpetua.

    • Hi Perpetua, πŸ™‚
      It took me a while to finally post her, but now you can see my little girl. πŸ™‚
      2 cats = 4 children…Soooo true! Lol
      I’m really happy you like her. πŸ™‚
      Hugs to you, Paula xxx

  3. Beautiful cat, beautiful post. It’s amazing how our pets relate to us so deeply and all they ask for in return is a little love. We give them a home and food, but they give us back, tenfold! And thanks so much for acknowledging my dear Billy, I will pass this on to Dennis, he will appreciate it! xo

    • Oh Maryanne,
      I’ve been so worried about posting this and how your grief is still so new. Thank you for being so kind. I feel I love my girl just like you and Dennis loved your Billy. πŸ™‚
      No one has ever shown me the unconditional love that Sakura has. πŸ™‚ love my Sakura…. And I will love you. That’s what a man has to do to get to me! Lol
      Again much love to you and Dennis. Hugs Paula xxx ooooo

      • Aw, Paula, it’s your blog, you write what you want. I would never begrudge your happiness because we lost our baby. I’d love to believe that our Billy lives on in other cats. Enjoy your beautiful Sakura, she is something special! xo (Dennis loved your blog, he said it was very sweet!)

      • Thanks Maryanne and thank you to, Dennis. Xx

  4. Reblogged this on Maryanne Mistretta and commented:
    A beautiful post by Paula, a perfect read for animal lovers!

  5. What a beautiful cat! I have never seen markings quite like hers before. She’s very pretty and looks so soft! We’re so lucky to have cuddly fur babies πŸ™‚

    • Hi Megan, πŸ™‚
      I totally agree and are thankful everyday that she’s in my life. Her markings are cute. Her whiskers are so perfectly separated. Lol
      Enjoy your day today…or is that night for you?
      Nite…Noooo morning for me. LMAO
      Hugs and love to you, Paula xxxx

  6. Oh she is a true princess…how preciousβ™₯

    • Hello Laurie,
      πŸ™‚
      Thank you! :). She’s lying in bed next to me… I just told her what you said. πŸ™‚
      She looked at me half asleep and laid her head back down. Lol
      Its 1.20am woke up and now struggling to get back to sleep. Not cool. Lol
      Good night/ Good morning. :). Much love to you, Paula xxxxx

  7. Beautiful post Paula !!!Loved your narration πŸ™‚

    • Hey my little brother! πŸ™‚
      I’m glad you like her. πŸ™‚
      She’s so precious to me and keeps me company. You love animals as much as I do. Some days I feel really low thinking of my Teco Boy and Margie, but she hugs into me and makes everything better. Hope your feeling okay, my darling little brother? Huge hug, Big Sis xxxx

  8. Big (((HUGS))) Paula πŸ™‚ xx

  9. Al

    Sakura is totally gorgeous

  10. We have a lot in common. Ms. Felix is the love of my life and she is also a 10-year-old small cat. She used to be a black spotted tabby but now her spots have turned into stripes. (We named her Felix because we thought she was a boy, so added the “Ms.” when we found out otherwise).

    Wonderful to hear about Sakura!

    • Oh no! πŸ™‚

      How sweet is that! They may be tiny but boy can they radiate love. πŸ™‚
      Glad you like her and someone like her in your life. πŸ™‚

      Have a great day. Hugs to you, Paula xxx

  11. Howisbradley

    I had a wonderful half Persian cat named Turnpike for 16 loveable years. Anyone who thinks cats aren’t loving has obviously never had one. Thank you for sharing your story and the photos. She is beautiful

    • Hey Bradley, πŸ™‚
      Your cat sounded delightful. πŸ™‚
      I know some men that really dislike cats…but deep down I think they are pussy cats themselve, and don’t want to look weak hugging a tiny little pussy cat.

      My fingers are crossed that I get that long with Sakura. Hugs to you, Bradley. Paula xxx

  12. Hello, that’s a great picture of her in the chair–she does look like a princess on her throne. My cat diamond used to check on me by getting real close to my mouth and smelling. I have asthma and breathing problems so I always just assumed he was checking to make sure I was still breathing………

    • Hey Ivonne, πŸ™‚

      For sure, I believe that Diamond was. πŸ™‚
      They are so clever and at times ….know us better than we do. πŸ™‚
      I hope poor doggies eye and Salena are doing well? You have so many babies to look out for! Love to you always, Paula xxx

  13. Very touching post, dear Paula. I read it and felt like Sakura is near. She is great! I think it would be very nice if your put the parrot’s photos, too! Anyway, you worte a very sensitive and emotional text.

    Thanks for sharing!
    Arlen

    • Hey Arlen, πŸ™‚
      Thanks for your comment. And one day I will post them, good idea! πŸ™‚
      Its now 4.30 am and she’s tucked up right near my face . Actually in a ball to keep warm. Its pretty cold right now. πŸ™‚
      Hugs to you, Arlen. Paula xxxx

  14. Pingback: Archive of Comments | Arlen Shahverdyan. Author's Blog

  15. A beautiful post lovey and equally beautiful shots of the ‘Princess’ πŸ˜€ Who wouldn’t want the unquestionable love of a pet in their lives? Anyone?? They bring so much joy and comfort and enrich our days with their antics and devotion. I did have fur-baby, but she passed some years back now. So I mind dogs, so that I can give them the cuddles and love that I did to our Tarsha. Loved this post and I hope you finally got some sleep missy PS – it’s bloody cold in Melbourne too…where has Spring gone? xxx

    • Haha! πŸ™‚

      I agree. Wherefore out thou, Spring? πŸ™‚
      The way you take in dogs and look after them, takes a very special person and you are, because you’re our Mumsy! Writing this made me miss Teco boy and Margie. 😦

      As for sleep? I think I’ll sleep when I’m dead. Lol :). Sleep seems to escape me at the best of times. Maybe I was a vampire in a previous life! LMAO I love you very muchly, Mumsy! Hugs Paula xxx

  16. Hello … I also thank you and hope to see you again on my blog.

  17. June

    Very cute cat, although I couldn’t imagine my self lying with a cat. πŸ™‚ I actually woke up with a puppy doing that same thing to me but that was unintentional cause I left the bedroom door open. πŸ™‚

    • Hahaha! πŸ™‚
      What are you saying Juney Babe? I’m weird for sleeping with a pussy cat?
      LMAO Actually maybe I am! Lol You should try it….sooooo cudldly. Lol
      Hey, I’m coming your way to see what happened next? The plot thickens!!
      Enjoy the rest of your weekend. Hugs to you, Paula xxxx

  18. she is so cute on these photos! you described so deeply the relationship between you both, so amazing how animals are understandable and become our friends! have a lovely day Paula xx

  19. manwithaego

    Great photos of Sakura, she is a beautiful cat, looks like she has plenty of personality, I had Border Collie for 16 years he was my best friend he was a clever dog used to be able to open the back door with his paws and when i say down on the lawn or patio he would snuggle up to me so my arm would rest over him, i think he liked the cuddles i gave him

    • Haha! It sounds like he did.
      I can only imagine how hard it is to lose your best mate after so many years. I dread the day I no longer have kura in my life. I think I will be so lonely, so I try not to think about it. πŸ™‚ You should maybe get another dog someday? I hug you and thank you for sharing that. Hugs Paula xxxx

      • manwithaego

        Amazing, I have a friend called Annie that has a cat that looks like yours, the resemablance is striking, maybe they are twin pussies

  20. Paula, your pictures of your princess are wonderful! Sakura sounds like the perfect roommate and friend. πŸ™‚ In our home we have a cuddly feline and a cuddly canine. They prefer a lap to an empty chair any day.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    • Hello Wendy-Lee! πŸ™‚

      I so miss you! I haven’t been blogging that much lately, but have thought about you many times. I hope all your family are well!
      She really is the great love of my life. I didn’t think you could love an animal equal to human beings….but I do! πŸ™‚
      Loads of love and hugs to you, Paula xxxxoooo

  21. melanie

    long story, very short: I’m a catlover, Γ  la vie, Γ  la mort… πŸ™‚
    Lucky-Loulou – my Spanish tomcat, olΓ©! πŸ™‚
    http://balauru.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/lucky-loulou-mi-gato-valenciano-ole/

  22. un saluto al tuo bellissimo fiore di ciliegio dal mio Ambrogio, razza certosino, padrone e re della mia casa

    a greeting to your beautiful cherry blossom from my Ambrose, Carthusian breed, master and King of my house

    Ventis

  23. She is so adorable. You are lucky to have her in your life. Have a great day.
    Hugs, Kiran.

  24. She’s beautiful! I have 5 cats and 1 dog. Some of the cats love me more than the others. LOL. The dog thinks I hung the moon, since I feed him.

    • Hahahaha! That is the sweetest thing ever, the moon!! πŸ™‚
      Wow 5 cats? Sakura is so jealous she wouldn’t allow me to have another cat! Lol You are surrounded by animal love!
      Hope all is well in your world? Love to you, Paula xxx

  25. shejustwantedlove

    aw sakura is such a sweetheart! I’ve always wanted a cat just like that. When i’m older i’ll get a cat as adorable as sakura ^-^ Hope you two are doing well!

    • Hello baby girl. πŸ™‚
      Ohhh I so hope one say you do get one. She’s my light in all darkness. I’m blogging on my phone in bed and she’s curled up on my legs. So cute. I’m good, thank you! Hugs Paula xxx

  26. Oh dear Paula, so sorry because I can catch your post now!!!!! How lovely your cat, she is same as mine… we sleep together too πŸ™‚ Blessing and Happiness to you both, Thank you, love, nia

Leave a Reply

