Depression Exists

sad_fairy_by_laladria

When I first started this blog I had no real idea who or if anyone would read it.

I don’t think I’m unique in that thought… I think a great deal of bloggers start out with that in the back of their minds.

To me, I used it as a form of therapy – kind of like emptying my treasure chest, only the whole world was able to see in it!

At first that kind of scared me, and then I just started writing and after time realised that I was becoming lighter, and the chest was slowly being emptied. And for whatever the reason, I no longer worried who would be reading my life. In part because I realised the blogging community as a whole are very nurturing, caring people.

The people I follow and vice versa have become like extended family to me. I’m from a huge family, so I don’t say this out of desperation; I say it because I mean it! Β πŸ™‚

Okay, back to that chest. Now this chest was pretty full, so by no means does that mean I’m done. Lol

But life is getting easier and accepting me, and all the other parts to Paula, is becoming easier to understand. Being Bipolar is no excuse for me to not lead a quality life like everyone else. Naturally I’m going to have the odd hurdle (or 2 or 3) that I have to make sure I can clear, but I can and will keep doing it. Depression is another strange thing to live with. I’ve come to accept that it’s kind of like a friendship that has to be nurtured. I need to love respect and care for it. Because when I don’t? It will let me down and turn it’s back on me until once again I’m showing it the love and understanding it needs.

Before I leave you all, I just want to send my love to those that I wrote my last post about. You all have shown great strength and courage to trying to find your way back to happiness. It will happen and there will be days you fall down, but get up and try again tomorrow. I hug you all, as I think hugging the world is good for the soul. Love and respect everyone and they will love you back. Hold no racism or prejudice and see how easy it is to love everyone! I’ve said it many many times…We all bleed the same colour, right?

I thank each and everyone of you that have supported and inspired me on this journey of finding out who Paula is.

Today we have had sunshine and my world is shining, I hope yours is too. xx

Love and hugs to you all. Paula xxxxx

Image Credit

38 Comments

Filed under Fight Depression

38 responses to “Depression Exists

  1. I have another blog. One that is ultra private. The whole blog is only viewable by me, and I make each post private just to make sure.

    I use that to put in my thoughts and how I feel, mistakes I have made etc. It is like keeping a diary that only I can see.

    Your blog has visitors because your blog is worth visiting. You are a great person and that comes across. Thank you Paula for being a part of us and for touching our lives. Good night and sleep well

  2. Beautiful post, Paula. This is my favorite of all you’ve written. I’m so happy for you, you deserve it! xoxo

    • Hello Maryanne,
      πŸ™‚
      Thanks It means alot coming from you. πŸ™‚ People as still afraid of mental illness which makes me sad at times. If only they understood it a little more they would see we are just like them. Our struggles are just a little harder to get a hold on. My heart ached for you and Dennis last night. I hope over time the days get a little easier. Love to you both. Paula xxxxxx

  3. So happy for you to find some comfort and love here in this community. We all need to feel this in our life! You are important…don’t ever forget that!β™₯

    • Hey Laurie,
      πŸ™‚ Thank you, sometimes I need to hear that. πŸ™‚
      People give up their time and share their world with us…I find that incredible! Your photography is beautiful. I would have loved to have been on that plane when you pulled out the big boy! Lol Great shot mind you.
      Love to you and your little man. Hugs Paula xxxx

  4. big sis, its great to know that your world is shining now. Best wishes and prayers

    • Morning my, little brother! πŸ™‚
      πŸ™‚ It is and the rain has settled for now. I know how much you love the rain…but for me it makes me feel down. πŸ™‚ Plus unlike there, its really cold when its raining here. You are a huge part of my cyber family and are special to me. Sakura and I send you our love. Right now she’s on my knee watching me type to you. πŸ™‚ Hugs Big Sis xxxxxx

  5. Howisbradley

    I love your optimism even when I’m sure it’s difficult. It is infectious and has helped put me in a better place. And you are right – bloggers are the best.

    • Hello Bradley,
      πŸ™‚ Thank you for what you just said. πŸ™‚ I understand you and you understand me. It’s not always easy…but we deserve a quality life just like everyone else. πŸ™‚ Keep smiling Bradley and hold your head up high. I hug you and glad you’re part of our family here. Hugs to you. Paula xxxx

  6. the pleasure is mine for any positive role i’ve played in this ) hugs ) beth

    • Hello Beth,
      πŸ™‚ You play a huge part and are always positive and full of hope and inspiration. I think that shows in the type of career you have chosen. I love that your non judgemental. Hey and look at your smile!! Makes me smile everytime I see your gravatar. Love and hugs to you. Paula xxxxx

  7. Hi Paula, I am happy to hear that life become easier. And it does. Depression can be tamed for as long as one follows that doctor’s order. Sweet dreams, Perpetua.

    • Morning Perpetua,
      πŸ™‚ It’s true, we have to keep on a straight line and not veer too far left or right! It’s finding that happy medium. When things are feeling difficult? I always always tell myself, Tomorrow is another day!
      I didn’t have a nightmare last night. Maybe it was the thought of your happy dream that kept it away. πŸ™‚ Hugs to you, my Perpetua! πŸ™‚ Paula xxxxx

  8. Simply a beautiful and warm post with words from your heart – I am so happy that you are finding your way *hugs* my friend xxx

  9. Stay healthy, “cool” and positive, Paula! At least, do try, please! πŸ™‚ Life is like a permanent daily “war”(la guerre, in French!), so:”Γ  la guerre comme Γ  la guerre!”, we have to fight and to struggle every day, but then again: it’s worth it, thinking of all our loved and close ones who love us deeply and who need us by their side in super-shape! πŸ™‚ Good luck & hugs! MΓ©lanie NB
    – – –
    P.S. remember to have some dark chocolate every day… πŸ˜‰
    http://balauru.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/love-and-dark-chocolate/

    • Hey Melanie,
      I checked it out before i commented. Okay, so loads of love and dark chocolate it is!! πŸ™‚ I don’t usually eat dark chocolate but maybe I should start. πŸ™‚ Tis true, my Melanie, I try to find the positive in every negative. Not always easy…but I still try. I smile and hug you loads. Paula xxxxxxx

  10. Rohan 7 Things

    Lovely post Paula! Blogging is most definitely therapeutic, my blog posts really help to keep me on track and happy and authentic πŸ™‚

    I’m so glad to hear you are moving in the direction you want to be going, that’s so cool! Keep at it and remember you have friends, both in real life and in your blogging family, who wish you all the best πŸ™‚

    Big hugs back!

    Rohan.

    • Thank you, Rohan! πŸ™‚
      πŸ™‚
      I love my real life family and you guys here. πŸ™‚
      It’s amazing how much it helped me pull through some bad days. πŸ™‚
      Even now if I feel down? I hunt all the amazing blogs of poetry, art, photography anything that makes me see the world in colour!!
      And of course my blog family’s posts! πŸ™‚ I love finding out how you’re all doing and what you have to say to the world! πŸ™‚ Hugs to you. Paula xxxxx

  11. Beautiful post, Paula. I’m so happy for you that you’re life is looking much brighter. I wish you only happiness and light.Take care. Big hugs to you. xx

  12. You rock Paula…I enjoyed the bit about your chest most, ha risquΓ©! I am glad that we have all helped you in your journey but really you did the hard part, the writing, you let us in and I am happy you did.

    The bets bit about the blogging community is that we always come back for more and mutually inspire at an exponential rate and that just makes us all better at what we do.

    • Thank you!!! You just sent a huge smile to my face. πŸ™‚
      You’re right though, I always have to come back! Lol I love our little family/community! Hope your enjoying your weekend. I shall have a drink for you tonight. Don’t forget that I drink Bourbon and Lemonade when you order at the bar. You can buy me the claytons drink…The drink you have, when your not having a drink! LMAO Hugs Paula xxxx

  13. may monster hugs rain down on you always Paula….. X andrea

  14. June

    Oh I always feel you. Always spot on, Paula. Hugs!

  15. A most excellent post! In the end, it will always be about the connections that we make, and the joy, tears, fears and triumphs that we share. Hugs!

    • Hey Clanmother, How’s things?
      I agree 100%. WordPress is an amazing outlet. Writing is a great release and the WordPress family….are just beautiful people! Love to you, Paula xxxxx

  16. Pingback: Depression Exists | http://www.rockoys.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

