Do We Say Sorry And Mean It??

im-sorry

Do we  say sorry and mean it?

Have you ever being sorry for something and wished you could take that moment back? You more than likely have as it’s human nature to make mistakes… Or poor choices!

But we can’t get that moment back because it’s already in the past. Like that, see, it’s gone, we are now in the future, whoops it’s gone again and again.. Bugger, missed it again! Okay you get my point. lol

We say sorry but sometimes sorry isn’t enough for some people to let it go. I suppose your forgiveness is measured by what kind of pain or disappointment you caused the person or persons.

I thought of this one a lot lately and I’ve come to the conclusion that sorry is but a word. (Feeling regret, compassion, sympathy, pity etc) But are we sorry to them or just sorry for our own self pity, regret etc?  Do we really mean it when we say sorry or are we doing it with our fingers crossed behind our backs?

Actions speak louder than words so therefore when our actions are poor choices judgement etc, you can’t blame someone for not trusting in your being sorry. So how do you regain trust? Do you spend hours trying to justify yourself or do you let it go and move forward?

I’ve decided that moving forward is the best thing. When your fingers aren’t behind your back and you are genuinely sorry, what more can you do or say to make that person believe that you mean it. Actually I don’t think you can… Trust is something earned and once you lose that trust it’s very hard to get it back. You may know you mean it, but the other persons hurt is just too deep.

You have to let it go as it only pulls you down and makes you feel bad; almost like grieving in some kind of strange way. The past is but the past and the future is here and now. Learning from our mistake is whats important and taking responsibility for it. So move forward and have no regrets, as guilt is a wasted emotion!

Have you ever said or done something and wished you could take it back??

Hugs and love to you all……Paula xxx

image source

24 Comments

Filed under Thinking...

24 responses to “Do We Say Sorry And Mean It??

  1. Yes. If only there were do overs. As you said, learn from & move on. Sometimes, that is easier said than done.

    • This is so true and not always easy! 😉

      No one really sets out to deliberately hurt someone, so when you do? It only hurts you back, right? 🙂

      I love your blog. It always shows the beauty in life. :). Plus you know I love pink! Hugs Paula xxx

  2. Howisbradley

    Oh, I’ve done many things I wish I could take back. The worst was when guzzling booze and putting white stuff up my nose became more important than paying child support. After I got sober (10 years now), I was still an awful mess until I was finally diagnosed with bipolar disorder. My once good friend (my ex wife) will likely never forgive me for those days. I don’t blame her and it still hurts. I’m working hard to embrace acceptance.

    Great blog. I’m glad I found you.

    • I hug you and thank you for being so honest! 🙂

      Like I said we all make mistakes and in your case…I for one are so proud of how far you’ve come! Go you for being sober so long. 🙂

      I’m glad you found my blog too. I also am Bi polar. :). Which comes with many difficulties others don’t have to face. That’s not an excuse for bad behaviour… but we do push life to the limits and ourselves.

      Learning to cope and make better choices is what we are always learning, right? Thank you again for your honesty. Hugs Paula xxx

  3. Rohan 7 Things

    I’m sure everyone had done something they are sorry for, but as you say the only way to really make things right is to let it go and focus on the next moment. We don’t build trust by always doing the wrong thing and apologising, we gain trust by always doing out best to do the right thing, and by being open to learning and improving 🙂

    Great post Paula, a very important topic!

    Big hugs 🙂

    Rohan.

    • Hello Rohan. 🙂

      I love your comment! Can I say I agree with everything you just said!! Lol
      Learning from it is so important. 🙂

      She hugs you and loves that you get it! 🙂
      Nite from Oz, Rohan! Hugs Paula xxx

  4. If I knew that I have offended someone, I will be the first one to say I’m sorry and mean it. What bother’s me is the forgiveness part especially when I am not forgiven. Then I feel totally sorry for the whole situation not just for me but the other person and the other person, the list goes on when the story filters through from one ear to another. What a sorry situation.

    Goodnight, Paula. Perpetua.

  5. Ahh life teachers us many lessons, some we deal with and accept, others we try but cannot. There are many things that I am sorry for, unkind words or actions – a common place – most of us have experienced. Looking back the hurt we have caused or others have caused us, is futile for it usually cannot be mended. I wish I could take back actions, words throughout my ‘growing up years’…but I can’t and so moving on is the only answer. Finding peace within yourself is the only thing one can do. Get it right and try to continue. Good Post lovely. xxx

    • I love that… Get it right and try to continue! 🙂

      Once its done its done and nothing can undo that. right? 🙂

      All I want in life is to be happy and at peace with myself. Then move forward…wherever that may be?

      Love you a bunch. Mumsy! Hugs Paula xxx

  6. Wise words…move onwards and upwards. That is also good advice when ascending a mountain also.

  7. I did have a teacher in high school who always told us: ever since the word sorry came out, our pride has been lost.
    One should apologize but it really only counts when one means it.
    I have a problem with letting go, I must definitely work on that one.
    xxx

  8. Thanks for this. I’ve been thinking about this because I’ve been on the other side of it lately. Someone who I was very close to said something very hurtful to me and now wishes that he had never said it.

    It’s been hard for me to forgive and forget and to let him change and move on, even while I would hope for that response from others.

    I’ve been trying to figure out what I should learn from this. Maybe something about generosity and not letting the past bury the future.

    • Absolutely!! 🙂

      Very wise words! 🙂

      If you can do this you will move on to and not take the baggage into your future. Which is right now by the way…remember what I said? Its already gone…see, its the present! Lol 🙂

      We don’t mean to say or do things to hurt people. But sometimes we just don’t stop and think and before we know it…we’ ve hurt the people/ person we wanted to protect and love.

      Your advice to your self is brilliant and very mature! Thanks for stopping by. Hugs Paula xx

  9. Yes, I’ve definitely had to apologize – almost daily the need arises. It is such a blessing to forgive and be forgiven. All we can do is our best. I think people can tell a sincere apology from the ones with “crossed fingers”. 🙂

    Blessing ~ Wendy xo

    • Hello Wendy- Lee!! 🙂

      I’ve missed you! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and I think people should be able to tell also…but some won’t let it go.

      I hope your all well and enjoying your sunshine! Many hugs to you. Paula xxxx

  10. melanie

    Hi babe-Paula! 🙂 the title of your post is a rhetorical question… which means that it depends… 🙂 There’s a French saying:”qui s’excuse, s’accuse…”=who excuses himself, accuses himself… – word by word translation! 🙂 Long story, short: I do admit and I do apologize any time I’m wrong, I do try to avoid hurting people’s feelings, even though it’s really hard now and then…
    – – –
    Stay healthy, “cool” and have a peaceful weekend, young lady… 🙂
    Cheers, Mélanie

    • Hello Melanie! 🙂

      I love your comment and would have loved to have heard you speak French! It always sounds so cool. I only speak English and even struggle with that!! LMAO 🙂

      You also have a great weekend!
      Hugs to you. Paula xxx

  11. Nice post.One of the beautiful posts I have ever read !!!

Leave a Reply

