Castle Howard

Castle Howard

IMG_20130502_114027_653

IMG_20130502_114008_187

IMG_20130502_104725_227

IMG_20130502_110649_352

IMG_20130502_111800_485

IMG_20130502_110649_352

IMG_20130502_121618_140

IMG_20130502_103246_709

Hello lovely people!

This stunning majestic country home, Castle Howard, is in the Howardian Hills in Yorkshire.

Building started in early 1699 by Sir John Vanbrugh for the 3rd Earl of  Carlisle. It’s now owned by The Honourable Simon and Mrs Howard.

The home was used to make the t.v series Brideshead Revisited. The successful series still draws the crowds as a result.

Personally I haven’t seen it, but I’m a mad Downton Abbey fan! Katiekins shares my love for the show and I’m sure there are more of us out there. 🙂

If you ever get the chance this castle is just beautiful and the grounds are breathtaking!  You can’t help but be in awe of it.

Hope your world is shining,  if not I send love your way!

Hugs Paula. Xxx

19 Comments

Filed under My experiences, What makes me happy

19 responses to “Castle Howard

  1. I can imagine you living in it and with that outfit riding the horse. Looking good, Paula. Hugs x Perpetua

  2. I have started watching Downton Abbey this weekend and I am now fascinated with these British castles. Beautiful! I am glad you are having such a great holiday.

  3. What an impressive house, Paula. I love that black and white marble floor. Hubby did one very like it in the entrance hall of our last home in Johannesburg. 🙂 I haven’t seen Brideshead Revisited, but I adored every episode of Downton Abbey.

  4. Oh yes, I’m a Downton fan too!

  5. Rohan 7 Things

    So this is your new place huh Paula? 😉 What a stunning building, those blues and reds, wow! Incredible piece of architecture, just amazing. Must have been thrilling to walk the halls of a place like that 🙂

    Thanks for sharing! Hugs.

    rohan.

    • Hahaha! Wouldn’t that be amazing to call home! Hey our blog community/ family could have had slumber parties! And woken up early to go riding in our huuuuge green luscious grounds. Let’s not forget coming back and eating our full english breakfasts!
      Yip…I could handle that! LMAO hugs me Irish friend!
      🙂 xxxx

  6. Nicely portrayed images! You took this? 🙂

    Rahul

Leave a Reply

