I’m off on the QM2

QM2-Starboard

Well my fellow bloggers and bloggettes!  I’m off to Sydney this Wednesday morning with my 21 year old son to board the Queen Mary 2 on it’s circumnavigation of New Zealand.

As this is my birth place I’ve been there many times, but never on a ship as beautiful as the QM2. I did a 21 day cruise to Japan with my husband a few years ago. He didn’t enjoy that one as we were at sea for to many days in between ports.And last year I went went on a cruise that circumnavigated Australia.  I loved that.

What makes this one really special to me is that my mum, step dad, sister and her partner are also coming. It’s a 12 day cruise and finishes in Sydney on the 19th March, which is my birthday. We are staying in Sydney for 2 days and then returning to Perth. I sooo don’t like having birthdays anymore! Can you relate?? LMAO

The ship is very glamorous  and if you love to dress up to the nines, this is the ocean liner to go on! On formal nights men have to be in a tuxedo or black suit/white shirt and bow tie. They all look gorgeous, no matter how old they are. You can’t not love a man dressed in such a way. The ladies are in long flowing ball gowns and have all their jewels out. Everyone sparkles! Semi-formal nights: Men still have to be in suit and tie. As for the women, if you think of going to a cocktail party, then that’s what you would be wearing. I love these nights as they are elegant but not too over the top. Semi-casual nights: these are the most relaxed nights; you dress as if your just going out to an elegant restaurant.

To me, the gym is one of the most important parts of the ship! (lol.) You soooo need to go every day to make up for the food extravagance. Over indulging on these ships is very easy!! Tea and scones, anyone?? lol All that cream and all that fat! But boy it taste so damn good! lol

They actually have a low calorie, three course menu each night. Okay, you’re thinking: what the hell for, right? But seriously, after a while it can all get a bit much. I mean who eats a three course meal every night and then goes to the midnight buffet? On the ship, heaps of people do and then I’m sure they get off hating themselves!! lol. So, my advice is to eat whatever you want and just make sure you do the exercise classes to make up for it!

I won’t get a chance to keep up with those of you I follow, so stay happy and I shall see you when I return! If I have a chance I will post some pictures.

Love and hugs to you all……Paula xx

image source

35 Comments

Filed under My experiences, What makes me happy

35 responses to “I’m off on the QM2

  1. tfaswift

    Have a great time! 🙂

  2. WOW! Sounds so nice and exciting… Have a nice travel and days, I hope you take many pictures 🙂 Thank you, love, nia

  3. I think this one will be a great birthday if it ends after nearly a fortnight on the QM2. What a wonderful trip to go on. I hope you enjoy Paula, you certainly deserve some fun and happiness.

  4. wow have awesome time there. best wishes from lil bro

  5. Have a great cruise!!!!! I am just starting to blog about the one I took at Christmas.

  6. June

    That sounds great and I know it surely will be. Have a great cruise and a happy birthday afterwards. Can’t wait to hear your stories about it already. Take care Paula!

  7. WOW! That sounds awesome!! I once went on a cruise with my grandparents (as a graduation gift). It left Italy & went on to Malta, Israel, Egypt, Yemen, Oman, Sri Lanka. One of THE ABSOLUTE Best trips ever!! I remember I ate everything!! Even beef stroganoff at 09:00 am (yes, I have the ABILITY to eat ANYTHING at any given time of a day / or night). Please enjoy yourself and indulge in everything great!! I hope you have the best birthday ever!! Can’t wait to see photos when you return!! xxx, a big hug, T

  8. You are now off sailing the seas in the most magnificent of ships. Refresh, enjoy and come home safe, have a splendiferous birthday angel! xxxx

  9. Arrgggggg….am I too late to wish you a Bon Voyage??!?!?!?

  10. Have a great trip Paula!!! Kerry 🙂

  11. Rohan 7 Things

    You lucky duck!! Have a wonderful time and take some pics 🙂

    I’ve always wanted to enjoy a cruise, have loads of fun!!

    All the best Paula 🙂

    Rohan.

  12. What fun ! Have a wonderful time

  13. Wow Paula- hope you have had an amazing time xxx

Leave a Reply

