Evening everyone! I hope you all have a great weekend! I love Davids post and this was definitely worth re-blogging! Love to you all, Paula xxx

counselorssoapbox

By David Joel Miller.

Who talks badly about you?

If you were on a desert island, with no one around to criticize you, would you still feel badly about yourself?

Interesting question. I saw this question in a book titled “Be Glad you’re Neurotic” by Dr. Louis Bisch, one of the founders of the New York Psychoanalytic Society and Institute. I have paraphrased it slightly. It was a valid question back in 1936 when his book was published and it is still a good question today. This is not the post to go in to the whole Neurosis verses Specific Diagnosis thing or talk about the difference between psychoanalysis and the kind of brief therapy in vogue today. We may get back to that later – maybe not.

What is important at this point in our series on moving towards your happy life is the question of how much of…

View original post 787 more words

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “

  1. I totally agree with you. If you have grown up or live with someone that constantly criticizes you or puts you down, it can take you years of basically retraining your mind to overcome that. Thanks for sharing this.

    • Or worked with someone too who is critical. All my life I’ve been a go-getter but left amazing jobs because of the assholes with big mouths who always felt a need to put others down. The good news is, now I work for myself, kinda like being on a desert island, mostly working at home, but I still get down on myself for what was once said to me.

      • It sucks doesn’t it!! I feel they do it to control us and also because of their own insecurities! The thing is why did we listen in the first place! Hmmm they are great manipulator’s! Enjoy your weekend, Maryanne! Hugs from Oz!! ….. Paula xxxx

    • Morning! *waving* it really does and no matter how many times others tell you the opposite, you never really believe them. Have a great weekend! Hugs Paula xx

    • Sorry working off my IPhone and didn’t hit the reply button to your comment! It’s at the bottom. Lol ….. Paula xxxx

Leave a Reply

