The Big Day!!

Not mine, but with the presents gathered, easily mistaken. 😉

So, the big day is nearly here! *yaahhhh*

I’m from a very large family so Christmas time is fun and hectic! Soo many presents you’d die!! *laughing* I think, what the hell!?  It’s once a year, so I’ll soak up every minute of it!

I’m not religious and so therefore I would have to say it’s about getting together with your family, having a great time and being extremely materialistic! *laughing* Hey, that’s about the the truth of it!

Australia and especially Western Australia, where I’m from, the temperature on Christmas day can be 40 degrees celcius and hotter! Having a pool is very handy.
One Christmas at my brother’s, we had a watergun fight to keep cool! Plenty of enjoyment for the kids and quietly, the adults too. 😉

Although the weather is getting a bit confused as to what season we are right now, it goes from boiling hot to raining and humid!
I suppose the day will be a lucky dip!

So you put the air conditioning  on, check eskis  are filled with ice, start the music and when family start arriving then the drinks begin to flow!
I’ve said it many times in my blog, drinking and I go waaayyyy back! So moderation is the key here!
I’m getting good at this. 🙂 🙂

Everyone’s here? check!
Okay, get excited everyone, cause here comes Santa!
The kids love him giving out the presents and so do I! *laughing*

Presents done, swimming’s done? Check! Okay, food time!

This is our menu for the day: each family brings something but the host buys the majority as it’s always been that way.
With such a big family it takes ages before it’s your turn again! So no big deal really! *smiling*

Okay keep up, this is the menu!! *laughing*  roughly 40 people!

Antipasto platter, feta tomato and olive salad, crackers and some dips.

Glazed Ham, Turkey, Roast Pork- Dinner rolls

Green salad, Cous Cous salad, fig salad, Bean salad, Mexican salad, Beetroot, Asparagus, Coleslaw, Garlic potato

Fish mornay, Prawns, Calamari, Japanese Squid salad

Pavlova, Cheesecake, Sherry trifle, Bowl of cherries, fresh fruit salad and cream,

An hour or 2 later! *smiling*

Tea, coffee, short-bread, chocolates, fruit cake and cheese platter.

It’s only once a year so ‘pfft’ to the weight gain on the day!

Do you celebrate Christmas? if so, what do you do?

Super dooper Christmas hugs to you all!!!!

Paula xxxx

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “The Big Day!!

  1. Ok I’m salivating at this food! Oh my imagine how much we eat on this Day which thankfully comes around only once a year. You sound like you are going to have a ball 🙂 drink in moderation …what is that? You saw from my post how I celebrate so I won’t prattle on here 🙂
    I hope you have a wonderfully, beautiful, awesomeness and bestest Christmas ever. 🙂 xxxxxxx

  2. Merry Christmas, happy holidays, happy fun and family time 🙂 wish you many more happiness 🙂 big hugs from lil bro.

  3. I LOVE it! Well in Omaha, we are hoping for a white Christmas. We got snow on Saturday and should get more on Wednesday into Thursday! It really makes it feel like Christmas for me. Since nearly all my family lives in town, we go to Mass on Christmas Eve, then to my Grandparents. They are in their 80s and still going strong. I get to hang out with my Aunts, Uncles, cousins, and their kids. Then Christmas morning, we celebrate at home with Cinnamon Rolls and presents before heading to my husband’s parent’s house and then to my parent’s house, finally getting back home late, stuffy and tired, but happy! Enjoy your holiday!

    • Oh wow! A white Christmas, how exciting! I spent Christmas in London last year as I was hoping for a white Christmas, but unfortunately for me it didn’t snow until I came home about the 6th January! Is a cinnamon roll like a doughnut? It sounds so delicious. Have a great Christmas – and I’m so jealous of your snow! *laughing* ……Paula x

  4. Wow that menu!! Enjoy your Christmas to the fullest and happy holidays 🙂 🙂

  5. I will no doubt be stuffing my face with turkey and well… stuffing 🙂 whilst being stuffed into my tiny house with tiny rooms with a rather random bunch of people… but very much looking forward to it. Think it’ll be a case of ‘bring your own chair’ 🙂

    • LOl. You doing that takes me back to my youth! I didn’t care what I did or didn’t have as long as I was with my friends! I bet you have a great time!
      Merry Christmas!! xxxx

  6. Yay Christmas!
    So looking forward to it. And I am pleased it’s at your house – if any one oozes Christmas cheer, it’s you.
    xxxxx

    • Hello, dearest sister in-law! *smiling* You know I love you,right? I think you saw I was sliding, so you encouraged me to put my decorations up to stay happy! *thank you* because it worked! Only 6 more sleeps Megsy!
      xxxxx

  7. I love the menu and the pool! Do you have room for 5 more guests? 😉 Have fun with your family, Paula! Hugs.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  8. Afternoon, Wendy -Lee! *waving* What’s 45? it’s just a number! *laughing*
    The pool is definitely handy!! Super dooper hugs!! xxxx

  9. Alright, that settles it I am coming over to your place for Christmas!!!!

    🙂

    Ivonne

  10. My dear friend my today post is dedicated to you!

    • I just read it! How beautiful and romantic! See, you changed my mind about romance. I remember when I first followed you I struggled to comment, as I didn’t have a romantic part in my body! *smiling* I’m changing! xxx

  11. 1EarthUnited

    Merry Christmas with love! We’ll chat after the new year. Cheers!

  12. Is that your tree!? It’s gorgeous! But I agree that spending time with family is amazing! I am slightly jealous that it’s warm there; but I’m not sure it would feel like Christmas without the cold and as of today–SNOW! Us Americans and all our snowy Christmas movies! haha I’ll be going to the in-laws this year for Christmas–it’s always sad to be away from my family for Christmas. I have four siblings and we’re super close–but I guess that’s what being married is all about! (or that’s what they tell me 😉 )

    • Hi Nicole! No, it’s not my tree but was the best similarity I could find! 🙂
      I would love Perth to snow but we never get that cold. In the Blue Mountains in Sydney it does and I think parts of Melbourne.
      I’m one of 6 kids so I know where your coming from! 🙂 Have a great time and I’ll see you in 2013!! xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

