Depression Exists – it really does

depression exists

Sometimes you just don’t want to face the world. Sometimes it’s difficult to do the simplest of things. Getting out of bed is an obstacle of Everest proportions, while breakfast, lunch or purposeful activity is nothing more than a vague dream. This is just one of the reasons that I’ve started this blog. It’s not just a case of my getting thoughts out of my head and into the world. It’s not a simple desire to share my experiences. Sometimes, I think it’s just a case of convincing myself that depression is real, that it exists and that I am suffocating under its savage blanket.

Depression Exists for me.

This is a bit of a ramble but that’s my state of mind right now. A little vague, a little random and quite a bit scared. That’s what depression is all about though, isn’t it? The inability to face the world, and a destruction of self-confidence of the most obscene level.

Did you know that from puberty onwards, women are twice as likely to experience depression than men? And that around one in six Australian men suffer from depression at any given time? That is a lot of people in the same boat. I think talking about it helps. For more information go to beyondblue.

Image Source

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Depression Exists – it really does

  1. I agree that talking helps. But more than that, its hearing others experiencing the same thing–reminding you (despite what all the other negative people might say) depression is REAL. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thanks for the support Nicole. On a crap day, it certainly feels Real:)

  3. As it is for myself…I’m also dealing with PTSD. So I know how you feel.
    Paula, If you ever need someone to talk with, I would be more than happy to listen.
    Greg xx

    • Hi Greg. My life has come along way since this post. I still have bad days, but no way as bad as it once was. I’m Bipolar (not sure if you knew that?) So I kind of have learnt to adjust to me being slightly different from the norm! Whatever that is anyway? lol I did a post some time back…a video post about why I write. It’s called (A Word From Me To You)….Maybe if you have time check it out. Also I’ve lost 6 kilos which makes me very happy! ๐Ÿ™‚ hugs Paula xxx

  4. Hi Paula, I’m pleased to learn that you have come a long way. I did not know that you are Bipolar. So I don’t know how you feel. Having viewed your video post, I now have an idea of how you feel & experience. Thank you for this insight. Congrats on the weight loss! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for sharing! I hope to hear from you again! hugs Greg xxx

Leave a Reply

